Home > Decklists, Musings > Vengevine is the Real Deal

Vengevine is the Real Deal

I probably shouldn’t even be writing this.

So far, I have 3 Vengevines, and I still need one more.

As of my writing this, Starcity is sold out of Vengevines at $30, and the cheapest price you can find them at is $20 on findmagiccards.com (which is a price I’m honestly skeptical of). $25 looks more like the average price.

I don’t want to contribute to driving the price of this card up any more, at least until I finish my playset.

However, I just had my first experience casting this card, and I must say it’s the real f***ing deal.

I didn’t realize when I was reviewing the set just how insane this card is. Let me just go over a few of the ridiculous tricks that are possible with this card:

– Cast a creature. Cast Vengevine. Vengevine’s trigger goes on the stack. If your opponent plays poorly and counters the Vengevine before the trigger resolves, you can use the trigger to get back your freshly countered Vengevine.

*CORRECTION* This doesn’t actually work. Here is the information on Vengevine from the Rise of the eldrazi FAQ:

* If you cast your second creature spell in a turn and Vengevine is in your graveyard, Vengevine’s second ability triggers and goes on the stack on top of it. The ability will resolve, allowing you to return Vengevine to the battlefield, before the creature spell does.

* Vengevine’s triggered ability works only if Vengevine is already in your graveyard as you finish casting your second creature spell in a turn, and it remains there continuously until the ability resolves.

* Vengevine doesn’t need to be in your graveyard as you start casting your second creature spell in a turn, only as you finish. This matters if you sacrifice a Vengevine on the battlefield while casting that creature spell, perhaps to pay a cost of that spell or a cost of a mana ability.

* Vengevine’s triggered ability checks the card types of the spells you cast over the course of the entire turn, not just the ones you cast while Vengevine is in your graveyard. For example, if you cast a creature spell, then Vengevine is put into your graveyard, then you cast another creature spell, Vengevine’s ability triggers.

* Vengevine’s ability triggers only for the second creature spell you cast in a turn. It won’t trigger for the third, fourth, or so on. It also doesn’t matter how many noncreature spells you cast in a turn; the ability counts just the creature spells.

Vengevine is the Real F***ing Deal

[Further clarification is available here. ~Joey]

Regardless, I still love this creature.

– Cast Vengevine. Attack. If your opponent kills Vengevine, cast another creature during 2nd Main Phase, get back Vengevine.

Kor Skyfisher craziness, which I can take 0 credit for, but you basically cast Kor Skyfisher, use his ETB ability to return Kor Skyfisher, cast him again, get back Vengevine.

Blightning? Discard Vengevine, Vengevine. During your turn, cast 2 creatures, get back Vengevine x2.

Some of these are probably obvious. It doesn’t really matter. After playing with this card, I must say that this card is absolutely insane and is worth every penny. Get them now before you can’t.

Did I mention how it’s pretty sweet to play side-by-side with Tarmogoyf? Not like I know, I’m not in the business of donating kidneys, but if I wanted to give up an organ I would get 4 Goyfs and throw them in a deck with Vengevine until Goyf rotates.

Believe the hype. Vengevine is the real deal.

Bigheadjoe

P.S. Oh, you want to see a deck I’m playing around with? OK.

Creatures:
4 Vengevine
4 Kor Skyfisher
4 Knight of the Reliquary
4 Noble Hierarch
2 Birds of Paradise
4 Baneslayer Angel
4 Lotus Cobra

Planeswalkers:
3 Elspeth, Knight Errant
2 Gideon Jura

Enchantments:
2 Oblivion Ring

Lands:
4 Sunpetal Grove
4 Stirring Wildwood
3 Misty Rainforest
2 Verdant Catacombs
2 Arid Mesa
4 Tectonic Edge
6 Forest
2 Plains

You can also view the deck at: http://mtgurl.com/tdZr

Magic the Gathering Links for this Week

  1. A.G.
    April 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Awesome, I traded for my second one at $15. Not sure if it fits in Eldrazi Green though. Any thoughts?

  2. April 27, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    It DEFINITELY fits in Eldrazi Green, especially if you aren’t going for the strictly Elf route.

    Bigheadjoe

  3. A.G.
    April 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Cool, I was just worried about the GY effect since there’s no Ranger of Eos or Kor SKyfisher in the deck. The way I’ve been building it it’s running mostly without Elves and I’m giving Omnath a shot too. Is there a forum here, where I can post a deck list?

    • April 28, 2010 at 8:55 am

      Oh yeah, you know what helps you along in that cause? Momentous Fall.

      You can post your list in the comments here, we have no forums to speak of.

      Bigheadjoe

  4. A.G.
    April 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Here’s the cards I’ve been working with, if you feel like putting in some creative criticism, I’d be stoked.

    “Eldrazi Green”

    4x Llanowar Elves
    2x Arbor Elf
    3x Nissa’s Chosen
    3x Omnath, Locus of Mana
    4x Leatherback Baloth
    4x Mul Daya Channelers
    4x Master of the Wild Hunt
    2x Vengevine
    2x Ant Queen

    3x Basilisc Collar
    4x Nissa Revane
    3x Eldrazi Monument

    4x Oran Rief, the Vastwood
    2x Dread Statuary
    2x Tectonic Edge
    14x Forest

    Just running the Master and the Collars for Removal, not sure how that’s gonna pan out. I also had Wolfbriar Elemental and Garruk in there till I thoguht of other stuff. To be honest I’m not even a big fan of the Nissa recursion engine.

  5. A.G.
    May 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Got 7th with the list.

  6. A.G.
    May 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Leatherback Baloth is a beast, no pun intended.

  7. July 4, 2010 at 12:48 am

    Dang got this in a pack without even hearing about it and was a bit miffed because at first it really didnt look THAT good plus im playing a red-black eldrazi deck and that dosent really fit but wow. it is a beast, and may have to start up a new deck soon… bur wow ive been doing really good in the packs recently, Maelstrom Nexus, Hellcarver Demon , and now this?! sweet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

