Home > Decklists, Musings > Bigheadjoe Has Mono(green)

Bigheadjoe Has Mono(green)


I’ve got a FEVER!

OK, I don’t really have a witty pun to relate this post to the cowbell sketch, but I was just thinking about it.

Seriously though, I am loving this monogreen deck lately:

Green Mind:

Creatures:
4 Joraga Treespeaker
4 Llanowar Elves
4 Lotus Cobra
4 Nest Invader
3 Wolfbriar Elemental
4 Avenger of Zendikar

Sorceries:
3 Bestial Menace

Enchantments:
3 Beastmaster Ascension

Artifacts:
4 Eldrazi Monument

Planeswalkers:
2 Garruk Wildspeaker

Lands:
2 Oran-Rief, the Vastwood
4 Verdant Catacombs
3 Misty Rainforest
16 Forest

Sideboard:
4 Acidic Slime
2 Terastodon
3 Relic of Progenitus
3 Naturalize
3 Khalni Hydra

Joey Pasco has said of this deck, “It’s the least fun I have ever had playing against a monogreen deck.”

First, compare the deck with the deck that Zvi Mowshowitz championed at Pro Tour San Juan:

Mainboard:
Creatures:
4 Arbor Elf
4 Joraga Treespeaker
4 Kozilek’s Predator
4 Lotus Cobra
4 Nest Invader
1 River Boa
4 Vengevine
4 Wolfbriar Elemental

Enchantments:
3 Beastmaster Ascension

Artifacts:
4 Eldrazi Monument

Lands:
1 Dread Statuary
13 Forest
4 Khalni Garden
4 Misty Rainforest
2 Verdant Catacombs

Sideboard:
1 Beastmaster Ascension
1 Forest
2 Gigantiform
4 Leatherback Baloth
2 Naturalize
2 River Boa
3 Tajuru Preserver

My version of this deck feels even stronger than the version that Zvi ran, while not going too deep into the cardpool from Shards block. This looks like a fun, Timmy-flavored (god that seems gross given that one of my best friends is named Tim) Standard deck best suited for FNM, but make no mistake: this is a borderline combo deck. To be honest, I haven’t played it outside of FNM or the kitchen table, but it seems to hold it’s own against many of the heavy-hitters in the format. I am dying to try it out in a more competitive environment, and for once feel as though I can confidently encourage you to do the same.

Many of the popular decks in Standard right now do not interact with the opponent very much: Mythic, Turbolands, Time Sieve, Next Level Bant to name a few. This deck is actually capable of OUT-COMBO-ING them! A typical start:
T1: Treespeaker
T2: Level Treespeaker, play Cobra
T3: Wolfbriar kicked thrice
T4: Avenger
T5: Beastmaster or Monument, win.

These turns aren’t based on goldfishing, either. This feels like most of the games I play against real decks, with blockers and everything. Garruk pretty much ties the deck together, since it does everything this deck wants to do: accelerates mana, plays tokens, pumps tokens for alpha strike.

As far as the sideboard is concerned, I have a confession to make: I HATE PLAYING AGAINST TIME SIEVE!!!! The sideboard is pure hate against that deck, although the cards included do have applications elsewhere. I know that there are no red decks at my FNM, so I don’t have much hate against that deck. I strongly recommend that if you play this deck, you tweak the sideboard to better account for your own metagame. The Khalni Hydras are in there because… well… I traded for them on Friday before the tournament and it seemed like a good idea at the time. If you expect to play against RDW, I would probably use those slots for either a decent 3-drop (like Leatherback Baloth) to account for your early mana dorks being bolted, or some sort of lifegain tool (Dragon’s Claw could work, but you probably want a body attached to it… can’t wait for Obstinate Baloth!)

I think that’s about all I have to say at the moment. I am having too much fun with this deck right now. It has the nostalgia of the old monogreen decks I used to play 14 years ago, with the added bonus of actually being GOOD!

Also, Bestial Menace, my all-time favorite art ever created. (I guess trolling isn’t limited to the MTG Salvation forums!)

Have fun!
Bigheadjoe

  1. Mike
    June 30, 2010 at 7:23 am

    This deck also has the advantage of being fairly affordable in MTGO as well. I’ll have to give it a shot once I get some free time.

  2. AZ
    July 1, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I’m playing a similar deck from Grand Prix-Manila that made day two and was featured on the mother ship. The deck splashes blue for Shared Discovery, Unified Will, Sea Gate Oracle, etc., and uses Overrun as its finisher instead of Beastmaster or Monument.

    Against RDW, since I don’t have room for Leatherback Baloth, I’m boarding in Wurm’s Tooth instead of Dragon’s Claw. In the G/u variant, you’re playing more green spells than your opponent playing red spells because of all the cantrips and card drawing. You might want to consider Wurm’s Tooth.

    What’s the Tajuru Preserver for? All Is Dust? Consuming Vapors? Annihilator? How often do those scenarios show up in your metagame?

  3. DAve
    July 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Do you find Acidic Slime better than Mold Shambler?

    Love the Hydra, the evasion is great and he is so cheap to cast in this deck! I might swap out Gigantiform in my sideboard if I can get a few more.

    Naturalize is key if you’re going up against the mirror match. It saved me against Keith’s R/G Elves.

  4. July 7, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    AZ – The deck you are looking at is Zvi’s deck, not my own. My deck is the first deck listed. Tajuru Preserver was a choice for Block Constructed, most likely against All is Dust and Eldrazi Giants. I really think that the new Green Leyline might be best for this particular build against RDW, even above Obstinate Baloth. I know that might be hypocrisy, but it seems like it would gain you more life over the course of the game, and possibly even keep some of your mana dorks alive longer. (Forked Bolt now only kills one elf/cobra instead of 2.)

    Dave – I like Acidic Slime because it comes down a turn faster to kill lands against the decks you want to do that to, and kills artifacts against Time Sieve a Turn faster too. I feel like Terastodon is a better choice against Superfriends because you can kill multiple PW’s in one go. So Mold Shambler is good, sure, but I’m not a big fan personally.

    BHJ

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

