Home > news, podcast > Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 43 – Now Available!

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 43 – Now Available!

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 43 – Faction, Schmaction is now available!


Download it here or stream it below!
(To download file, right-click the link above and choose “Save As”)

This week the guys are joined by returning guest, 2009 State Champion Lloyd Frias, to discuss the latest developments in the Standard metagame, the Mirrodin Besieged “Faction packs” announcement, and the controversy surrounding the recent changes to the Wizards Play Network.

SCG Nashville Top 16 Decks

TCGplayer Boston Top 16 Decks

Mike Flores – All About Tainted Strike

Magic Talk on YouTube

Faction Packs!

Booster Draft order changes

Changes to the Wizards Play Network

Contact us at yomtgtaps [at] gmail [dot] com

Free Stickers!
Just send us your mailing address.

Leave us a voicemail! 331-MTG-TAPS

Follow us on Twitter!
@yomtgtaps (BHJ and Joey)
@affinityforblue (Joey)
@OMGWTFBHJFTW (Bigheadjoe)

Become a fan of Yo! MTG Taps! on Facebook!

Featuring music by:
These Four WallsWe Were Promised Jetpacks
“Ships With Holes Will Sink” (mp3)
from “These Four Walls”
(Fat Cat Records)

Buy at Napster
Buy at iTunes Music Store
Buy at eMusic Delivery
Buy at Rhapsody
Stream from Rhapsody
Buy at Amazon MP3
More On This Album


Music provided by IODA Promonet & used with permission.

Thanks for listening!

  1. Bruce
    October 25, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    RE: WPN changes.

    The change to me is the loss of the prerelease. I run a group whose players were all young children (my son is part of the group). They will not get to go to another prerelease since they are young and their parents do not feel comfortable letting them go to a store. I feel badly that they are missing out on the experience… and a child that young also loves the foily prerelease card.

    I’m trying to find a store to affiliate with, but the stores in my area already have prereleases or don’t want to affiliate.

    I’m still hoping to find another way to make it work for the players.

    Bruce

  2. fishing
    October 29, 2010 at 1:16 am

    i think you guys have kind of missed a point about the shutting down of deck check.

    for many people who play outside of the United States there is no physical store that they can actually affiliate with, as card/comics/game store are much less common. for these people the wpn play network was the only way to play DCI sanctioned events regularly. now, with the ending of the wpn support these players can neither run nor support their own tournaments. also, wizards has not given any alternative way for these people to continue with their events.

    i know here in the U.S. driving an hour or so to the closest store is a pain, but imagine if the closest store was 8-9 hours away. there are plenty of great tools for people to communicate and find other players in their area but now they are left with no way to play in DCI sanctioned tournaments.

    do i think the shutting down of deckcheck will change wizards’ policy? of course not. was it “the right thing” to do in response to this? maybe not. but i think that a lot of people have missed how much of an impact this change is and how many people it actually affects. i feel that deckcheck being closed down for now is something to draw attention to this change.

    • October 29, 2010 at 1:59 am

      As I understand it, unaffiliated TOs are still able to run sanctioned events. What they are losing is the FNM promos and the ability to run prereleases. They can still hold sanctioned events on Friday nights, they just won’t have the FNM promo to give out.

      Rather than rehashing something I’ve already written elsewhere, here’s what I said on another forum:

      “I definitely understand that there are people whose situation is much different than mine, and I stated as much in the episode.

      My response in the episode was to the perceived reaction I was seeing from various people on the internet. I believed their reaction to be an over-reaction. Of course people would like access to FNM/prereleases and promo foils, but these promos and events are not necessary to play the game, they’re just “perks.” The general community reaction made it seem as if Wizards was saying, “if you don’t have access to a store, you can no longer play Magic.” Obviously that is not the case at all. These unaffiliated TOs can still hold their events at their usual times/places. They just will not have some of the promos, and they will not be able to hold prereleases.

      It sucks, of course. But it’s not the end of the world, the end of the game, or for that matter, not necessarily a permanent change.

      Maybe I’m misunderstanding (and I mentioned this in the show), but from what I can tell, the only effects of this change (for those affected at all) are:
      1). No FNM (or possibly Gateway/WPN) promos.
      2). Players have to wait a week longer to play with the new set (in other words, no prerelease).

      I’ve missed prereleases before (in fact, I missed both M11 and Scars), and it’s a bummer, but it’s nothing to go screaming and pulling your hair out over. And the promos are not in so much demand that it would be difficult to get certain ones if you REALLY wanted them.

      Regarding DeckCheck.net, see the above paragraph. “EvilBernd” is among those who I feel to be overreacting to this change, by doing the internet version of “screaming and pulling your hair out.” It’s his site, sure, and he can do whatever he wants with it, I agree. If he’d said, “I’m shutting down the site because I’m too busy to handle it,” then he’d get no raised eyebrows from me. However, he states that he is doing it in reaction to the WPN changes, and I personally feel that he is overreacting; aka, throwing an internet temper-tantrum.

      Besides that, his “protest” is affecting the SAME group of people that he seems to be protesting for: the players! The loss of DeckCheck.net does very little (if anything) to affect Wizards of the Coast; on the other hand, all the players and peers of EvilBernd who use the site regularly as a resource are left out in the cold…

      Wizards does things I disagree with all the time; I don’t quit the podcast over them. I give my feedback as a player and member of the MTG community. I can’t control what WotC does, but I can tell them how I feel, and I CAN control what I do. Generally, the opinions of “rage-quitters” do not tend to hold much weight when trying to make a point.

      …in MY opinion, he’s doing it wrong. He’s going about making a stand in the wrong way, affecting the wrong people. This is the essence of what we were saying on the episode.”

      Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate hearing other points of view, but no one has yet convinced me that these WPN changes are worth all the fuss. That said, I’m all ears.

      Joey

  3. David Zimet
    October 30, 2010 at 5:07 am

    “I definitely understand that there are people whose situation is much different than mine” — You may understand, but you don’t seem to be able to empathize. It really can be enough to not have the prestige of hosting an FNM and having the foils to give away to make an organizer stop providing OP for their school / playgroup / etc. The whole “you should just love to game for the game’s sake” thing – not every organizer is as gung-ho about the game as you are, and not every community is going to have a second organizer to step up if the current one decides they’re not so into it any more. The bottom line is, is this decision bad for the health of the game long term? I think it is.

    Also, the way it was handled seemed very inept, and I believe that some of the fuss is due to speculation that this will be an ongoing trend with Hasbro and their business decisions and communication (q.v. Reserved List fiasco).

    “However, he states that he is doing it in reaction to the WPN changes, and I personally feel that he is overreacting; aka, throwing an internet temper-tantrum.”

    *shrug* Fair enough, you’re not obligated to like his decisions or his style. I do have one question as someone who only used the site and never sought to contribute – was the content community-submitted? If it was, then taking the data with him was poor form.

  4. November 2, 2010 at 8:18 am

    David Zimet :

    You may understand, but you don’t seem to be able to empathize.

    You’re exactly right, and that’s exactly what I was trying to communicate but couldn’t find the right word 🙂 I can’t empathize because I’ve never been faced with a similar situation. I (along with BHJ) was just trying to express my opinion admittedly from a perspective that was unaffected by the change. It’s no secret that I am not a huge fan of the FNM promos chosen, so from my POV, having those taken away would be no big deal. And while I love prereleases and try not to miss them, the only real loss there is a matter of having to wait a week longer to play with the cards. I understand this is just my opinion, but that’s what we do—give our opinions 🙂

    As for how it was handled, I agree it could have been done better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

