Home > podcast > Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 62 – Now Available!

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 62 – Now Available!

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 62 – Mind The Banhammer is now available!


Download it here or stream it below!
(To download file, right-click the link above and choose “Save As”)

Episode 62 – Mind The Banhammer

Joey and Bigheadjoe go over the results of GP Dallas and share their opinions on the “ban Jace” controversy that broke out this week. They also take a closer look at some of the New Phyrexia spoilers they discussed last week. Are some of these cards better than they looked at first?

Grand Prix Dallas results

• Ted Knutson’s “Jace T. Mind Sculptor Will You Please Go Now!

• Aaron Forsythe’s “Skullclamp, We Hardly Knew Ye” (from when the DCI banned Skullclamp)

• Lauren Lee’s response – “#BanJace – Or Not

Horde of Notions podcast (Rogue deckbuilding)

Featuring music by Tha Gatherin’
http://twitter.com/thagatherin

Contact us at yomtgtaps [at] gmail [dot] com

Free YMTGT Stickers & Wurmcoil Tokens!

Leave us a voicemail! 331-MTG-TAPS

Follow us on Twitter!
@yomtgtaps (BHJ and Joey)
@affinityforblue (Joey)
@OMGWTFBHJFTW (Bigheadjoe)

Become a fan of Yo! MTG Taps! on Facebook!

Thanks for listening!

  1. Mike
    April 15, 2011 at 4:16 am

    You can’t pay life you don’t have.

    • Mike
      April 15, 2011 at 4:24 am

      The enchantment does work with Ad Nauseum, though. That life loss is an effect, not a cost

    • April 15, 2011 at 4:33 am

      What did we say about paying life you don’t have? I’m not doubting you, just having trouble remembering 🙂

      • April 15, 2011 at 4:39 am

        I think I found the part you mean, about “spending Phyrexian mana like crazy” b/c of Phyrexian Unlife. I didn’t mean to imply you could do it when you were at 0 life, but I can see how you could have taken it to mean that. I should’ve clarified. I meant that you could use up your entire life total spending Phyrexian mana until you hit 0 life and still not lose. 😀

  2. Mike
    April 15, 2011 at 4:23 am

    Norn’s Annex’s restriction exempts opponents’ entire teams from Gideon’s compulsion.

    Rules aside, it’s spelled out in his Gatherer FAQ:

    6/15/2010 Gideon Jura’s first ability causes creatures to attack him if able. If, during the affected player’s declare attackers step, a creature he or she controls is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can’t attack, or is affected by “summoning sickness,” then that creature doesn’t attack. If there’s a cost associated with having a creature attack, the player isn’t forced to pay that cost, so the creature doesn’t have to attack in that case either.

    • Mike
      April 15, 2011 at 4:26 am

      The 11 entries on that page are why it’s a smart bet Gideon will have a new card in M12 :p

      • April 15, 2011 at 4:40 am

        I’m excited either way 🙂 Although I guess my preference would be a reprint, because I love a Gideon Jura!

    • April 15, 2011 at 4:34 am

      Mike :

      If there’s a cost associated with having a creature attack, the player isn’t forced to pay that cost, so the creature doesn’t have to attack in that case either.

      This is very interesting, I didn’t know this.

  3. April 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Please excuse my inexperience.

    I’m just beginning to learn about magic and I may have learned as much today reading some of these posts as I knew before I started. lol

    So… Mike is giving details about 1 particular card and what it can do or perhaps I should say how it can best be used.

    So let me ask a question. From what I gather, a good player needs to know how best to use his cards, and there are 60 cards in a deck. Are all 60 cards in a deck different or are there some duplicates?

    And my next question is… if I need to have knowledge of my 60 cards and my opponents have different cards, how will I know how my opponents cards can be used against me and whether or not he is telling me truth if he uses it in a way that adversely affects my game or strategy?

    • April 29, 2011 at 1:04 am

      From what I gather, a good player needs to know how best to use his cards, and there are 60 cards in a deck. Are all 60 cards in a deck different or are there some duplicates?

      There are some duplicates. You can have up to 4 copies of any one card in your deck.

      if I need to have knowledge of my 60 cards and my opponents have different cards, how will I know how my opponents cards can be used against me and whether or not he is telling me truth if he uses it in a way that adversely affects my game or strategy?

      Each card has text printed on it explaining exactly how it works, so even if your opponent plays a card you are unfamiliar with, you can read it to see how it will affect your game plan.

  4. May 4, 2011 at 7:41 am

    affinityforislands :

    Each card has text printed on it explaining exactly how it works, so even if your opponent plays a card you are unfamiliar with, you can read it to see how it will affect your game plan.

    Does reading the opponents cards happen frequently? And if one player needs to read his opponents cards frequently, won’t that suggest that perhaps that player is inferior or at least not up to par on the game (for lack of a better term)?

    The reason I ask is because I am basically just beginning to learn things about the game and the cards, and would need to read the opponents card frequently. At some point I may feel as though I’d rather take my opponents word for what a card can do, in order to not appear completely inept.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

