Home > Finance > [Finance] Dual to Deck: Part 7

[Finance] Dual to Deck: Part 7

by Ryan Youngbar

2012 is here and I’m back for trades. To kick off the New Year, I’ll be conducting a poll on which Legacy deck should be this project’s end goal. I’ve got 3 in mind and I’m sure you’ll notice a common theme among them. But before we get to the decks with price breakdowns, I have some inaugural trades.

Trade #17

My
1x Grimoire of the Dead-$3.50
Total-$3.50
His-Me
1x Inquisition of Kozilek-$2.00
4x Vapor Snag-$2.00
4x Phantasmal Bear-$1.00
2x Civilized Scholar-$0.50
Total-$5.50
+$2.00

This trade was in preparation for a bigger trade with Richard. He’s working on U/W and basically needs the whole deck. I happened to have a few things in the Dual to Deck binder and he had a few nice things left from the Commander precons so I made a deal for one of those out of the Dual to Deck binder and the rest of what he needed for the deck from my personal stock. Spoiler alert: the card I got in the following trade is pretty sweet. The Grimoire was picked up due to the usual reason of me being a collector and the OCD that says you gotta catch ‘em all. The Inquisition was a good pick up and as one of the better 1 mana discard spells; it should pull its weight in this project.

Trade #18


My
1x Phantasmal Image-$10.00
4x Dissipate-$4.00
4x Phantasmal Bear-$1.00
4x Vapor Snag-$2.00
4x Civilized Scholar-$1.00
Total-$18.00
His-Richard
1x Flusterstorm-$20.00
Total-$20.00
+$2.00

I told you it was a sweet one. Along with the Spy Master and Scavenging Ooze, this is one of the only new cards from the Commander set to see Legacy play. It was recently printed as a judge promo but the price of the originals have hardly moved. It was printed as a 1 of in 1 deck in a limited print run. This makes them pretty rare and a very nice asset for the binder. Even better for this project, people seem to be starting to run 2 or more of these guys instead of just 1. I am very happy to have this in the binder and truth be told, would probably have even been willing to lose a few dollars in value to pick this up. The fact that I got it for basically an Image and a Grimoire makes me all the happier.

Trade #19


My
1x Sensei’s Diving Top-$12.00
1x Spellstutter Sprite-$2.00
1x Curse of Stalked Prey-$1.50
Total-$15.50
His-Dale
1x Past in Flames-$8.00
1x Stoneforge Mystic-$6.00
1x Mindbreak Trap-$4.00
1x Martyr of Sands-$1.00
1x Gitaxian Probe-$1.00
1x Cosi’s Trickster-$0.50
1x Burning Vengeance-$0.50
Total-$21.00
+$5.50

The Past in Flames and Stoneforge are solid pick ups that really shouldn’t require explanation. One’s a staple in Legacy, the other an eventual player in Legacy and current “it girl” in Modern. The Trap is more for Modern as well but does see some Legacy play. The rest is pure speculation. Will a Martyr/Proc deck be good enough in Modern post-bannings? I don’t know, but it is very popular and people will want to try it out. Probe has started seeing some Legacy play and post Standard rotation I’m hoping it will retain its value accordingly. The Burning Vengeance deck was almost a real deck early in the season and with another set of graveyard mechanics on the way, I want to be stocked on these guys. The Trickster might look embarrassing, and believe me I got funny looks when I pulled it out, but Corbin Hosler has been championing Fish in Modern and he says this guy is good as a 2 of. If Fish does take off as a tier 1 Modern deck I can see this hitting $2. If it ends up a flop I’m not too upset since I basically got it as a throw in on a solid trade.

Trade #20


My
1x Fiend Hunter-$0.50
1x Runechanter’s Pike-$1.00
1x Runechanter’s Pike (foil)-$3.00
Total-$4.50
His-Me
1x Bloodline Keeper-$4.00
1x Go for the Throat-$1.50
Total-$5.50
+$1.00

This was another prep trade. This time picking up cards for Austin and Richard again. Pike has started becoming popular in the U/W builds and Austin was working on getting his Humans deck up to par. I didn’t just do straight Dual to Deck trades with either of them because Richard didn’t want a foil pike so I had to switch it with one of my non foils and Austin wanted a bunch of commons with the Hunter that weren’t in the binder. I ended up picking up some promos and small things for my personal collection in that trade so it wouldn’t have worked with the project anyway. I know it seems like I’ve been doing a lot of trading between myself and the Dual to Deck binder but it has been very hard to keep the 2 separate. There’s nothing more frustrating than thinking you have all the cards for a deal, then realizing some are in a separate binder and must be kept separate. Doing these trades with myself for the pieces is a decent compromise. I don’t want to turn away business and I don’t want to make this project seem superficial. If anyone has better suggestions for how to handle these situations, feel free to comment or message me.

With the trades out of the way, it’s on to the Legacy decks. Legacy is supposed to be the second most busted format, after Vintage, so I want to be doing something that seems unfair when I’m playing. With that in mind the 3 decks I’m considering are Dredge, ANT, and Reanimator. The first really isn’t even playing Magic anymore, and something about that just makes me smile. ANT can win on turn one and Reanimator can have the game on lock down by turn 2. I’m going to list a stock deck with prices for each card to get a general ballpark of how much value I’ll need to get them. Once you guys pick a deck for me and I get in more playtesting I’ll post a revised list and a sideboard.

Dredge
4x Cephalid Coliseum-$12.00
4x City of Brass-$20.00
4x Gemstone Mine-$12.00
1x Flame-Kin Zealot-$0.50
4x Golgari Grave-Troll-$12.00
3x Golgari Thug-$6.00
4x Ichorid-$32.00
1x Iona, Shield of Emeria-$8.00
4x Narcomoeba-$12.00
4x Putrid Imp-$4.00
1x Sphinx of Lost Truths-$0.50
4x Stinkweed Imp-$4.00
2x Tireless Tribe-$1.00
4x Breakthrough-$12.00
4x Bridge from Below-$72.00
4x Cabal Therapy-$24.00
4x Dread Return-$6.00
4x Lion’s Eye Diamond-$140.00
Total-$378.00

This is an older list and is a more all in type list but the Diamonds included here should allow for some flexibility in price on the final version I come up with. I do like Manaless Dredge but if they have the hate, you really can’t fight through it as well as if you were normal Dredge.

ANT
3x Island-$0.30
3x Misty Rainforest-$39.00
4x Polluted Delta-$180.00
2x Swamp-$0.20
2x Underground Sea-$280.00
2x Verdant Catacomb-$16.00
1x Ad Nauseum-$1.00
4x Brainstorm-$8.00
4x Cabal Ritual-$8.00
2x Chrome Mox-$24.00
4x Dark Ritual-$4.00
4x Duress-$2.00
1x Ill-Gotten Gains-$3.50
4x Infernal Tutor-$20.00
4x Lion’s Eye Diamond-$140.00
4x Lotus Petal-$12.00
4x Ponder-$4.00
4x Preordain-$4.00
1x Tendrils of Agony-$1.00
3x Thoughtseize-$90.00
Total-$837

The Chrome Moxen are sorta like training wheels at this point. They will eventually turn into a Grim Tutor and a Chain of Vapor, but until I can combo with this deck in my sleep they are Moxen.

Reanimator
1x Bloodstained Mire-$15.00
1x Flooded Strand-$40.00
2x Island-$0.20
1x Marsh Flats-$9.00
1x Misty Rainforest-$13.00
4x Polluted Delta-$180.00
2x Swamp-$0.20
1x Scalding Tarn-$13.00
4x Underground Sea-560.00
1x Verdant Catacomb-$13.00
1x Angel of Despair-$4.00
1x Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite-$16.00
1x Empyrial Archangel-$4.00
1x Iona, Shield of Emeria-$8.00
3x Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur-$8.00
1x Sphinx of the Steel Wind-$10.00
3x Animate Dead-$6.00
4x Brainstorm-$8.00
4x Careful Study-$6.00
3x Daze-$9.00
4x Entomb-$120.00
4x Exhume-$8.00
4x Force of Will-$240.00
2x Ponder-$2.00
4x Reanimate-$16.00
2x Thoughtseize-$60.00
Total-$1368.40

And there it is, a Legacy Deck that runs 4 forces and 4 blue dual lands. I don’t know if the reanimation targets are how I like them but all the spells seem good. Choose one of these 3 decks and leave your vote in the comments section. I’ll leave the poll open for 2 weeks, so get your vote in before January 26th! After I have all the votes tallied, the winning deck will be announced and I’ll begin serious testing with it. A month or so later a revised decklist with sideboard will be posted. Thanks for reading and remember to leave your votes in the comments section.

“Rebar” at Collectors Corner
@Brass_Gnat on Twitter

  1. Mike
    January 12, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Alleviating frustration is all well & good, but gaining value on trades with yourself in a value-trading series is straight up bullshit. The first step of your next installment, trade #21 or whatever, you need to take $3 of a real, tradable card out of the binder and fuckin’ light it on fire.

  2. Shade
    January 13, 2012 at 1:36 am

    Or, save the cards n not run on the troll before me and count them not as gains. Try to equal trade yourself n if the non dual to deck makes profit, don’t have a dollar increase.

  3. Keith
    January 13, 2012 at 11:12 am

    You mad bro?

    In all seriousness, some useful feedback, I’m going to make you work for it. Make the reanimator deck.

  4. Robert
    January 17, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Reanimator deck all the way!

  5. Marc
    February 10, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    In real life no one in their right mind would do lopsided trades like that. If a guy came up to me and asked for my stoneforge, past in flames and a few other staple uncommons for a sensei, and some random shit, I would tell them to fuck off. That Dave guy must either be a fucking idiot or you’re full of it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

