Home > Announcement > Help Recover Justin Parnell’s Stolen Cube

Help Recover Justin Parnell’s Stolen Cube

I just received the following email from my friend Dave Heilker. If you have any information or can help in any way, contact Justin via e-mail here.

And please, spread the word wherever you can. Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, Pinterest, whatever. The more people aware of this, the better the chances of recovery.

Thanks!
Joey


All,

My friend Justin’s cube was stolen this weekend at Grand Prix Baltimore. This is a link to a spreadsheet containing almost all of the cards in my friend Justin Parnell’s Cube.

For those not familiar with the terminology, a cube is a collection of Magic cards used to draft among friends. (More info here)

The distinguishing feature among the items on this spreadsheet is that they are ALL foil. This includes the power, dual lands, and some other cards which might not usually be available in foil (obviously, the power and duals are proxies).

As a store-owner or someone who buys/sells cards in the area, I would implore you to please keep an eye out for these cards. I don’t know what the best thing to do is when cards are stolen as a buyer, I don’t know if you should just identify the party and call the police or what, but as store-owners, I’m sure you’ve dealt with things like this before, and would have a good gauge of how to handle the situation.

I want to make it impossible for these [expletive]s to sell these cards. I hope you’ll help. If you know any store owners in DC, Maryland, Northern Virginia, or Delaware that were not included in this email, or any independent dealers, please pass the word on to them as well.

There is discussion of a reward for the location and return of all or a portion of this cube, and I’ll be sure to update you all as soon as I have more information. I sincerely thank you all in advance for your assistance in this matter.

Categories: Announcement
  1. February 27, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    I’ll gladly spread the word on this one, i’ll even go as far as to write about it, this guy deserves his cube back after all the hard work he put into it, the thief needs to be punished.

  2. Max
    February 27, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    I will keep an eye out in NoVa for this Cube. I will notify Dream Wizards also of potential thievery. Sorry for Justin and I know how it feels.

  3. Mike Burleson
    February 27, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    This is Mike from Gaming Underground in High Point, NC. If I see any of this come across my store’s table I will let you know.

  4. February 27, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Kris from MtGFan.Tumblr.com – I’ve put out the word on my site and my Twitter. Hope things look up!

  5. JC
    February 27, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Do you know yet if the security tape was able to turn anything up? I know they were waiting around in Baltimore until Monday to find out.

  6. Elder
    February 28, 2012 at 6:58 am

    If it apears here in Brazil, i let you know. I will spread to storeowners.

  7. February 28, 2012 at 7:59 am

    I’ll let my employees and customers know as well. If we see it at Game Vault in Fredericksburg we’ll get in touch.

  8. Banister
    February 28, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I’m sure plenty of us at Lucky’s will have an eye out

  9. Patrick
    February 28, 2012 at 11:02 am

    There’s been talk of Edgar Flores having been arrested at Baltimore for theft of backpacks, though I’ve found not statements from DCI or Wizard’s on the validity of this claim nor are there any blotters. Was your friend’s cube in a backpack?

    • February 28, 2012 at 11:06 am

      I’ve heard this rumor as well, but it appears to be nothing more than that – a rumor. The impression I’m getting is that he was asked to leave the event site, but was not arrested, nor was he caught actually doing anything wrong.

      However, to clarify, none of this is confirmed. This is just what I’ve been hearing.

  1. February 28, 2012 at 10:33 pm
  2. March 1, 2012 at 11:35 pm
  3. March 2, 2012 at 12:06 am
  4. March 2, 2012 at 8:50 am

Leave a Reply

