Home > Finance > [Finance] Dual to Deck: Part 10

[Finance] Dual to Deck: Part 10

by Ryan Youngbar

Welcome back readers. I apologize for not having an article last week (especially after I promised) but preparation for the Grand Prix took all my free time. To make up for it this week, I’ll be covering all the trades I have up till this point. In light of this, I won’t go into as much detail on each trade but I’ll try to hit the major reasons for the trade.

Trade #27

My
1x Heartless Summoning-$3.00
Total-$3.00
His
1x Cemetery Reaper-$4.00
Total-$4.00
+$1.00

The original deal I was trying to work was 2 Heartless Summoning for 4 Reapers but sadly word has gotten out that Reapers are worth something. As is this trade is fine, playing on the hype of the Heartless Lich deck for a card with major casual appeal.

Trade #28


My
1x Liliana of the Veil-$35.00
1x Bloodline Keeper-$5.00
1x Mindshrieker-$1.00
Total-$41.00
His
1x Sword of War and Peace-$40.00
Total-$40.00
-$1.00

This is part of the trade I hinted at last time. It looks like I lost $1 on this trade but if that $1 is a Mindshrieker I could care less. Picking this up was great for the project. Though as sad as it sounds, I would much rather have picked up a Sword of Feast and Famine and a $5 card for Lili and the Mindshrieker (he really wanted this card and Lili). Sword is up to $50 now and I think that is insane, this sword is nowhere near as good as FaF, FaI, LaS, or even BaM in the Eternal and casual formats. Expect this to take a huge dive upon rotation and probably only climb to $25 in 2 years or so.

Trade #29


My
1x Sword of War and Peace-$40.00
Total-$40.00
His
1x Snapcaster Mage-$30
1x Havengul Lich-$15.00
1x Dismember-$3.00
4x Gitaxian Probe-$4.00
Total-$52.00
+$12.00

This is the other half of the teaser. War and Peace was the card everyone was looking for that night at FNM. I also happened to be one of the only people in the room with one for trade. This is a value trader’s dream position. I knew I wanted something that would hold eternal value for it and while Snaps is recently printed he’s like Bob, an instant classic that should never dip below $20 at his worst. Besides the Snaps I was also interested in picking up a blue fetch but John couldn’t give up that much high end value, so he offered me a hot Standard card and some number of commons/uncommons from his playables binder. I love commons/uncommons, there is so much profit to be made off them and you can pick them up cheap.

Trade #30


My
1x Go for the Throat-$2.00
3x Gitaxian Probe-$3.00
Total-$5.00
His
2x Heartless Summoning-$6.00
Total-$6.00
+$1.00

Like I said, I love commons/uncommons. Summonings have been trading at $4 or $5 for me which makes this trade a much better gain than the $1 increase lets on.

Trade #31


My
5x Zombie Tokens-basically free
Total-$0.00
His
1x Desperate Ravings-$0.50
Total-$0.50
+$0.50

This was a trade with a new player. He bought a zombie intro deck and some Innistrad and Dark Ascension packs to make a deck. He cracked a Huntmaster and I would have loved to pick it up but I didn’t have a ton of zombie stuff in the Dual to Deck binder. He really wanted my zombie tokens though, so I asked him if there was a stack of cards he was for sure not using and pulled a few uncommons from there and asked him to pick the one he wanted to get rid of. Normally I would just give him the tokens for free since it’s good to encourage new players, but sadly I can’t do that with this type of project.

Trade #32


My
1x Cemetery Reaper-$4.00
1x Zombie Token-$0.00
Total-$4.00
His
1x Baneslayer Angel-$7.00
Total-$7.00
+$3.00

How the mighty have fallen, the once $50 chase mythic traded for a zombie lord. Casual players still love her and she sees some 2-of action in some Modern decks.

Trade #33


My
1x Snapcaster Mage-$30.00
2x Gitaxian Probe-$2.00
2x Heartless Summoning-$6.00
1x Sever the Bloodline-$0.50
1x Falkenrath Marauders-$0.75
1x Parallel Lives-$2.50
Total-$41.75
His
1x Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite-$20.00
1x Wurmcoil Engine-$18.00
1x Grave Titan-$12.00
1x Moorland Haunt-$3.50
Total-$53.50
+$11.75

We did this trade in a hurry before FNM and originally when prices were checked Wurmcoil was misread as $8 instead of $18, so the original trade was his stuff for just Snaps and the Probes. Austin really needed the Snaps for his deck that night but didn’t have any Eternal cards for trade so I told him I had to get $40 on the Snaps in Standard stuff. He was fine with this, so not counting the Wurmcoil error the trade would only have been a few dollars off plus the $10 for trading Legacy into Standard. I didn’t realize the price difference on Wurmcoil until after FNM when doing the spreadsheet for the project. When I realized the mistake I contacted Austin and told him to send me a list of stuff he needed and I’d pull $10 of it from the binder for him. I didn’t retake the picture so that’s why the Innistrad block stuff is missing.

Trade #34


My
2x Oblivion Ring-$3.00
Total-$3.00
His
1x Vault of the Archangel-$3.50
Total-$3.50
+$0.50

Robert was looking to get Tempered Steel together and I wanted to start adding some Dark Ascension to the binder. Vault has a lot of potential if W/B or Esper tokens becomes a tier 1 or really popular deck. If nothing else, Vault should be a popular casual card for years to come.

Trade #35


My
1x Flusterstorm-$16.00
4x Vapor Snag-$4.00
Total-$20.00
His
1x Sylvan Library-$12.00
2x Gemstone Mine-$7.00
1x Chain of Vapor-$2.00
Total-$21.00
+$1.00

Trading Legacy and some Standard for Legacy. Sad that Flusterstorm is down $4 but still happy to make the deal since no one else wanted to take Flusterstorm at full value.

Trade #36


My
1x Wurmcoil Engine-$18.00
1x Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite-$20.00
1x Fiend Hunter-$0.50
1x Angel of Flight Alabaster-$0.50
1x Master Splicer-$0.25
2x Doomed Traveler-$0.50
Total-$39.75
His
1x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben (foil)-$15.00
1x Thalia, Guardian of Thraben-$5.00
1x Solemn Simulacrum-$10.00
1x Blightsteel Colossus-$8.00
Total-$38.00
-$1.75

This trade was made when I thought Wurmcoil was $8, so it wasn’t the slam dunk I thought it was at the time. It’s still not terrible since I expect Thalia to be a Legacy viable card, which will make the foil go up nicely.

Trade #37


My
1x Sword of Body and Mind-$13.00
1x Vault of the Archangel-$3.50
1x Skirsdag High Priest-$1.50
Total-$28.00
His
1x Contagion Clasp-$0.50
1x Grim Backwoods-$1.00
1x Frost Titan-$3.00
1x Gravecrawler-$8.00
1x Grafdigger’s cage-$6.00
Total-$18.50
+$0.50

I’m pretty sure Grim Backwoods is better than just $1 and people seem to be playing Frost Titan again so picking one up here for $3 then flipping it for $5 would be nice. Otherwise, just picking up more hot Dark Ascension cards with Clasp as a throw-in.

Trade #38


My
1x Path to Exile-$5.00
Total-$5.00
His
1x Drowned Catacomb-$6.00
Total-$6.00
+$1.00

Modern season is winding down so now is a good time to unload Path. U/B also seems to be on an upswing so despite being printed into the ground, these dual lands still trade well.

Whew, it’s only 12 trades but typing it all up is more work than you’d expect. That’s everything I’ve got up to this point. Between standing in an artist line for 3.5 hours, selling cards for people to vendors, and playing in the most poorly run Two-Headed Giant Sealed event I’ve ever seen I got literally zero trades in at the Grand Prix. It’s really a shame since besides Gen Con, Grand Prix are supposed to be some of the best trading opportunities out there. Here’s to hoping the Star City Invitational will make up for it. As always if you have any questions or comments you can leave them below or hit me up on twitter. See you all next week!

“Rebar” at Collectors Corner
@Brass_Gnat on Twitter

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

