Home > Announcement, Interview, news, podcast > Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 99 – Where’s My Counterspell?

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 99 – Where’s My Counterspell?

Yo! MTG Taps! Episode 99 – Where’s My Counterspell? is now available!


Download it here or stream it below!
(To download file, right-click the link above and choose “Save As”)

Joey and BHJ are joined by Patrick Chapin to talk everything from Standard, Legacy, and Modern to Avacyn Restored, Urza, and Mishra. Is it safe to unban Jace in Modern? Tune in to hear what Patrick would be playing at the SCG Invitational this weekend! Also, an announcement about the future of the show.

Avacyn Restored trailer and Helvault Prerelease info

Explanation of March 20, 2012 Banned & Restricted List Changes

“Information Cascades in Magic” by Patrick Chapin

Featuring music by Tha Gatherin’
http://twitter.com/thagatherin

Contact us at yomtgtaps [at] gmail [dot] com

Follow us on Twitter!
@yomtgtaps (BHJ and Joey)
@affinityforblue (Joey)
@OMGWTFBHJFTW (Bigheadjoe)

Become a fan of Yo! MTG Taps! on Facebook!

Thanks for listening!

The Magic Show #177 – Jace the Mind Sculptor is Overrated

Tap: Max’s Game trailer

  1. Maciej
    March 26, 2012 at 7:04 am

    Thanks! I just wanted to say that I really enjoy your podcast; well, scratch that, I just like listening to you guys, even if you talk about stuff unrelated to Magic. Along with a few other podcasts it turns my commuting from a chore into something actually enjoyable! And man, there is nothing like sitting in a night bus in Poland, going through a dark forest road (yeah, I live in a small town) and listening to the guys from the other side of the world.

    I have never been much of sports enthusiat (by which I mean, I have nothing against doing it myself, but sport transmissions/journalism usually bore the heck out of me), but listening to your tournament-talk (who did what? with which deck?) made me realize that this is probably what footbal fans feel during that news segment which I always switch off 😉

    Anyways, keep up the good work, you guys! And if you REALLY are up to sending your t-shirts anywhere in the world, I’ll gladly take one when the new batch arrives.

    Best of luck from Kashubia! (…which is the northern maritime district of Poland, very distinct culturally – for instance, Polish and Kashubian are actually different /albeit related/ languages! If you want to get the feel of the place, think New England, more or less)

    Maciej

    • March 26, 2012 at 11:57 am

      Thanks so much for the comment and compliments, Maciej! 🙂 It is really amazing to know that people worldwide are listening to us 😀

      We’ll definitely keep everyone updated on the new shirts when they’re ready (for now, we’re still just tossing around ideas).

      Thanks again!
      Joey

  2. Tim
    March 26, 2012 at 9:45 am

    I’m new to MTG and have really enjoyed listening to your podcast to help me get up to speed. Since you’re taking a break for a while.do you have any recommendations for other MTG podcasts to listen to?

    • March 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      Hey Tim! Thanks for listening! There are tons of other good shows around, all with different “flavors.”

      Monday Night Magic – more of a news-style show.
      In Contention – similar to YMTGT, focusing on tournament-talk and some news.
      The Eh Team – another one similar to YMTGT, although there are more interviews. These guys are kind of like the Howard Stern of MTG podcasts—probably not safe to listen to out loud at work 🙂 To quote their show notes: “**WARNING – this podcast may contain rude, crude, and lewd content. Listener discretion is advised.**” (If you like this one, check out Brewport Avenue podcast, which is an up-and-coming show that has a similar feel to it)
      Top 8 Magic – this is the podcast by Mike Flores and Brian David-Marshall, both longtime writers for MagicTheGathering.com. They sometimes go for months without a episode, and sometimes get off track and spend large parts of an episode talking about basketball, but it’s still one of my favorite podcasts.

      Those are the shows I can think of off the top of my head. If you like to play Commander, I’ve heard good things about Commander Cast, and if you like to hear about draft strategy, there’s no better podcast than Limited Resources.

      All of these shows (and lots more) are available on MTGCast.com.

      Hope that helps!
      Joey

  3. March 26, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I have enjoyed listening to the podcast (I think I have listened to every episode). I think taking a break is a good decision for you guys. Over the past couple months, you have fallen into a bit of a rut of spending most of the show reading through all of the top eight deck lists. That was fine with me — I never made much effort to look at the lists myself because I knew I’d probably just hear about them when I listened to podcasts, but I can see how it would start to feel stale. Hopefully, when you guys come, you can break the pattern and have the show feel fresh for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

