Home > Decklists > Bigheadjoe’s Awesome Rogue Deck of the Month – February

Bigheadjoe’s Awesome Rogue Deck of the Month – February

Sup jerks?

Over the last few months I have been playing a wide variety of aggro decks: Elves, Vampires, Mono-W Metalcraft, but deep down all I really wanted to do in Standard was cast Gideon and Wrath my opponents’ creatures away. So I decided to play UW control, and what do you know? The rest of the non-Boros population in Standard decided to do the same! This lead, inevitably, to me having to face the dreaded control mirror at my FNM. This is a matchup I don’t really have the patience for on a Friday night, so I decided that I needed to change the deck in such a way where I could break serve in a control matchup, while still allowing myself the tools to stave off the Boros rush. So I came up with this list. Sort of a “Broliferate Two Point Bro.” I’m not going to babble too much about the list as I feel it’s pretty self-explanatory. Getting to 4 mana on turn 3 is vital as you want to Jace or Day by then.

4 Celestial Colonnade
4 Glacial Fortress
4 Seachrome Coast
3 Island
3 Plains
2 Tectonic Edge
4 Eldrazi Temple
1 Eye of Ugin
4 Jace the Mind Sculptor
1 Ulamog
1 Kozilek
1 Emrakul
4 Everflowing Chalice
4 Sphere of the Suns
1 White Sun’s Zenith
1 Blue Sun’s Zenith
3 Contagion Clasp
2 All is Dust
3 Day of Judgment
3 Gideon Jura
4 Preordain
3 Tumble Magnet

Sideboard:
1 Day of Judgment
4 Luminarch Ascension
3 Leyline of Sanctity
4 Stoic Rebuttal
3 Ratchet Bomb

The sideboard is just a placeholder. Obviously build your sideboard to best fight the decks you expect to see where you play this deck. I think someone should play it in the SCGOpen in DC this weekend! I would if I wasn’t going to be busy entertaining all you NICE PEOPLE.

Also, make sure you read Noyan’s article below this… didn’t mean to post right after he posted an artice!

BHJ

  1. Mike
    February 23, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    4 Everflowing Chalice
    4 Sphere of the Suns
    3 Contagion Clasp
    3 Tumble Magnet

    All these… wouldn’t it just be easier to win with Tezzeret?

  2. February 23, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Believe me I thought about that. People are prepared for Tezzeret though, so why not surprise them? Of course it would be easier to “win with card or deck x” that is more commonly played, but I want to do something different. 🙂

  3. February 23, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Why All Is Dust? Too slow for aggro, & there are better ways to handle planeswalkers (Colonnade). Also seems like it conveniently ignores some of the major players right now: Swords, Wurmcoil, Tezz’s little friends.

  4. February 23, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Here’s the Sideboard I tested with tonight:
    2 Choking Fumes
    2 Journey to Nowhere
    2 Stoic Rebuttal
    4 Spreading Seas
    4 Luminarch Ascension
    1 Day of Judgment

    Journey out of the board obv. for any deck running Wurmcoil. The deck DOES ignore swords because they aren’t much of a threat. Believe me, all I’ve been testing against is turn 2 Stoneforge lol… Tumble Magnet deals with a bladed fellow, and Clasp kills most of Boros’ threats before they can ever slap the sword on. Magnet deals with most attackers quite well. Being able to proliferate keeps them active. I admittedly haven’t tested against Tezz and friends, perhaps you have some suggestions for the Sideboard?

    BHJ

    • February 24, 2011 at 2:28 am

      I’m not saying you don’t have other answers for the stuff I mentioned, I’m just asking why you’re using slots on something that doesn’t answer a lot of what is being played. Seems to me that the more artifacts being played, the worse All Is Dust gets. And lately, more artifacts have been showing up 🙂

      I am assuming you have a specific reason for including that card in your deck, I’m just asking what that reason is. 😀

  5. bigheadjoe
    February 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I agree that the card might not be the best choice for the deck. Perhaps put the 2 stoic rebuttals in aids place? My reasoning for including it was simply that I have the temples, and its a powerful spell. It kills planeswalkers, and it can knock out a well timed journey on one of my eldrazi.

  6. Noyan
    February 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Lanbdind Ritual seems like good tech.

    Anyway, I’ve tried a deck similar to this, the problem wits aids is that it kills your PWs too…

  7. February 25, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Actually, the more I think about it, Elspeth Tirel is the best choice for that last slot in place of x2 all is dust. Takes care of the “doesn’t kill artifacts” problem against tezz, clogs the board against boros, etc.

  8. February 25, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Also kills all of my artifacts but hey, who’s keeping score? LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment